David's Notes
David's Notes
Distributed with Matt Mullenweg: Stephen Wolfram on 28 Years of Remote Work
0:00
-8:58

Distributed with Matt Mullenweg: Stephen Wolfram on 28 Years of Remote Work

I developed this area of science called complexity theory. I decided to start a company that will build the tools that I want for myself. These tools are useful to lots of other people in the world. [3:28]


We started the company in Champaign, Illinois. That is probably not people’s first choice as to where to start a technology company. [3:46]


We got off to a very quick start. I was injecting ideas into the company at a very high rate. I was getting more and more frustrated that these things weren’t getting done. Just a few years ago we completed our 1991 to do list. [4:11]


I decided to step back and spend most of my time doing basic science. I was the main person to start working off site [This is when he starts working remotely]. [5:05]


Did you raise venture capital? No outside money. . .Not having venture capital is great. I don’t have a boss. I recommend it. [6:07]


I think of myself as pretty average at business. [6:50]


We’ve been profitable every year for 31 years now. That is achieved by a very simple process: spend less than you make. [11:32]


To me the focus is can you be productive? Where you live is your independent business. [13:47]


Tips for remote collaboration: We never use video conferencing. It’s always screen sharing and voice. [16:37]


Stephen’s blog post: Seeking the Productive Life: Some Details of My Personal Infrastructure. It is a very comprehensive view of Stephen’s entire personal operating system. [18:00]


Stephen live streams his internal meetings: I started live streaming the meetings because I thought they were fascinating. It is a shame for them to just go off into the ether. [18:33]


Some of the cracks that are happening in the technology industry come from a lack of alignment. Who are the actual customers? The actual customers are the advertisers, not the people. [21:45]


I see a large part of my role [in the company] as matching the talented people we have with the projects we want to do. [27:10]


Unique way to ask for a job: I’ve been reporting bugs in your software for 6 or 7 years now. I want to come and help fix them. [37:57]


Traits that make people successful: Independence of mind. Keep your thinking apparatus engaged at all time. Don’t bullshit. [38:08]


Full podcast here: Distributed with Matt Mullenweg: Stephen Wolfram on 28 Years of Remote Work


Learn from founders who came before you. Every week I read a biography of a founder and tell you what I learned on Founders podcast.